Experientially Reformed

Focusing on the Reformed faith in practice

Love and Marriage

leave a comment »

While I was browsing the books available at Presbyterian and Reformed Publishing I ran into a title I knew but had never purchased. I had browsed the original series on GI Williamson’s website quite some time ago but the format was difficult to read for any length of time and I soon stopped — promising myself I would get back to read it when I had more time. It is a series of sermons on the Song of Solomon which he had preached as a result of a request originating in his congregation.

Having listened to GI preach many times it is easy to imagine that these sermons will be helpful and I have no doubt they were. It is good to know that P&R have printed the series which covers a subject where thoroughly bible-based exposition is hard to find. One area where I think his insights are necessary to take into account are the thoughts he shares on those who are and may be destined to remain single. It is refreshing to hear it said that one who is single is not missing out because they are not married.

Even more important, in a sense, is the view that we will not find ultimate fulfillment in a marriage no matter how thoroughly biblical. Our ultimate fulfillment is in Christ and a good marriage may reflect some of that reality and be satisfying to both partners. In our day, however, romanticism leads us to expect more of a marriage than God ever intended us to find there. Whether single or married this series of sermons is one you should have. I for one am glad that the insights I gained by my browsing are now available (and have been, I discovered, for some time) in a more readable form.

The book version may be purchased from the publishers as either a paperback for $7.50 or e-book (for $6.99) here — the URL being:

https://www.prpbooks.com/book/the-song-of-songs

If you have the perseverance, the website version can be read here which is at this URL:

http://www.premieronline.net/~giwopc/song_of_songs.html

Written by kaitiaki

March 24, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Leave a comment